#12 Poem - Ogura Hyakunin Isshu (小倉百人一首)

Ogura Hyakunin Isshu (小倉百人一首) is a classical Japanese anthology of one hundred waka-poems by one hundred poets in the thirteenth century. My challenge is to translate the poems and write a return poem (返歌) in English.

The Twelfth Poem:



Blowing blue winds—

close a path between clouds
to heaven;
let five celestial maidens
dance one more time.
--Soujyo Hensyo
--Translated by Naoko Fujimoto


A poem written in response from me to Soujyo Hensyo

When you read a love poem;

I want Chopin’s waltz
to dance;
I take off my flat shoes
and step up to the November cloud.